|Troubleshooting Guide for
||Most access problems occur when
users are off-campus
Below are the most
common queries and possible solutions.
queries, try Frequently Asked Questions or Quick Guide
Why am I getting a
'Service unavailable' message?
TDnet runs a weekly update on Sunday evenings
between 5.30 p.m. and 7.30 p.m. and the listing may
not be accessible for some time during this period. Try
There may also be
occasional problems on Tuesday mornings when the University network
Why am I asked for
another password when I try to get the full-text of a journal.
On Campus: you
should not be prompted for any additional passwords unless there is
a icon. Just click on the icon to see the extra password
Off-Campus: Some databases will link
directly to the full-text of the journal but many of them
will present you with an additional login screen.
Don't worry. The companies who supply us
with electronic journals also supply them to other companies and
countries. The login boxes you see are for
these non-academic, commercial customers, not us.
Students and staff at the University of Ulster use the Athens
system and you have already entered these details when you logged in
to TDnet. All you have to do is to look carefully at the screen. Somewhere on it will be the link for Athens - it might be a logo or it might
be a simple text link. This is what you select to get to the
full-text of the journal.
However, anyone using the Swetswise
database for the first time will be prompted to complete a short
personal profile. You only need to fill in the sections marked
with an asterisk * and you only have to do this profile once.
Below are just some
of the kinds of additional login screens you might see - there may
be others (click to see full size screenshot).
|Why do I
get a blank page when I try to get the full-text?
|There are a few possibilities.
Some are purely technical and are listed in the Pop-ups,
Cookies and Firewalls section below.
However, Swetswise acts as a gateway for four major
journal publishers who sometimes have problems providing full-text access. The
problem is with the publisher not Swetswise.
They are: Springer & Kluwer, Wiley, Blackwell and Taylor & Francis.
Note: Springer & Kluwer were originally separate
publishers who have merged. They publish under a range of names, including,
Springer Verlag (or other Springer name variations), Brill, Kluwer, Kluwer
Academic (but NOT Kluwer International Law).
In the event that the full-text fails to open, check the
publisher name in the Swetswise 'Publication details' box. If the publisher is
one of those listed above, try the alternative routes below:
For each of these alternate routes, you
will have to browse or search within the database to locate the relevant journal.
The subject database I'm using
tells me the journal article is available full-text but the full-text link won't
This can happen occasionally.
The simplest solution is to note the article references -
journal title, publication date etc., go directly to the Electronic
Journals listing and search for the journal title there. Your journal
title may be available in more than one database and you can choose an
alternative link if you wish, but even if the journal is only available in the
database which was causing the problem, the direct link from TDnet should take
you through to the full-text without further difficulty.
Please let the Library know as well, using the Feedback form so we can investigate further.
Cookies and Firewalls
| Pop Up Windows
Athens needs pop-ups to be
enabled in order to work, so if the web browser has
pop up windows disabled, you will be unable to connect to the
Athens controlled resource. Internet Explorer may have a pop up blocker
automatically installed as part of the Windows Update procedure
(on Windows XP).
Ensure that pop ups are enabled, at least for the duration of
the TDnet login session.
If a Microsoft pop up blocker is installed, try the Tools menu,
select Pop-up Blocker, then Turn Off Pop-up Blocker.
Older versions of Windows do not have pop-up blockers installed
automatically, however some anti-virus software may include it.
You may also have downloaded
separate third party pop up blocking software. If so, consult
your documentation or refer to the supplier of your software.
If you are using a non-Windows
brower, e.g. Netscape, Firefox or Mozilla, please consult your
browser Help screens for more information.
TDnet uses Athens and Athens
needs cookies to be enabled in order to work. Internet Explorer's cookie handling is adjusted via
the Tools menu, select Internet Options, then the Privacy tab
and adjust the slider control to at least the Medium setting (or
below) to allow some cookies.
After use of the TDnet resource, the slider control can be moved to any
Alternatively, the web address of the database can be set up within the
browser as a trusted site -- see under Tools, Internet Options, Security, Trusted sites and use the Sites button to add the web
If accessing TDnet
from work, most workplaces operate a network firewall and some
firewalls may interact with the University firewall in such a
way as to deny access to certain web pages such as the TDnet
If using a home PC, personal firewall software on
the PC may cause the same effect. If possible, disable or turn
off the firewall before attempting to connect to TDnet or try
using a PC elsewhere.
| What about accessing TDnet via WebCT?
|WebCT (or Campus
One as it's sometimes called) is a way to access your module lecture notes,
seminar questions or other information which your lecturer wants you to use.
Many of you are already accessing all library services via this route.
You shouldn't have any problems accessing TDnet via WebCT,
but if you are familiar with it, you'll know that WebCT can experience its own
login problems, some of which are similar to those above.
We recommend you go to the Campus One homepage http://campusone.ulster.ac.uk and click on the Login to Campus One link on the top left hand of the screen.
The login page contains links to optimize your PC browser to make sure it's compatible with WebCT.
It also has information if you use a PC at your place of work.
section of Campus One (click on Current Student for access) provides
detailed information on common problems and their solutions as well as providing
a contact point for specifically WebCT based queries.
There is also a guide for distance
learning students (but equally useful for all users) which covers
accessing electronic resources off-campus, including accessing material via
| Contact Us
you've found what you need to use TDnet's listing of the electronic journals.
However, because of the variety of internet browsers and operating systems in
use in home and workplace PCs, there may be other issues affecting your PC.
you still need help or just want to comment on TDnet (or any aspect of library services),
use the Feedback form.
For access problems, please give as much information as possible, including
which journal you were looking for, access method and any error messages