Text Version
University of Ulster Library Services
UU Homepage | Courses | Research | Contact Us | Site Index

Printable Page
The Library
Library Catalogue
Reading Lists
Databases
Electronic Journals
Special Collections
Exam Papers
Subject Guides
Research Support
 
Opening Hours
Renewals
Recommendation to purchase
Contact Us

Guides to using RefWorks

Click on the links in the table below to connect to more detailed information. The first link is to a comprehensive guide and tutorial produced by RefWorks. The lower four examples are from the University of Ulster Library. They contains screen shots and worked examples for folders and specific databases. Follow them in sequence to get a complete overview of using the RefWorks and Write-N-Cite software to download  references, input citations in a word processed document  and create a bibliography. These handouts are used by University of Ulster Library staff during regularly organised tutorial sessions which are organised on each campus. Look for announcements on the library homepage and follow the link that will be provided to book a training session. Particularly if you have a long piece of writing with many references it is worthwhile becoming familiar with using this citation management software before you start your literature review.

Links to specialised guides on RefWorks.
RefWorks User Quick Start Guide    This includes a printable six page guide booklet and an extensive on-line tutorial from RefWorks.
RefWorks - An Introduction. Refworks presentation slides covering how to access the service, creating basic folders, import material, RefGrab and creating a bibliography.
Registering as a user of RefWorks and downloading the Write-N-Cite function for Word  
Creating Folders in RefWorks to Save References
Using RefWorks during a literature search to download references
Select a bibliographic output style in RefWorks
Using Write-N-Cite to create citations and a bibliography in Word

 

Contact Details for the Subject Librarians
Niall Burns (Sub-Librarian, Social Sciences)Jordanstown Library +44 (0)28 9036 6970 nd.burns@ulster.ac.uk 
Frank Reynolds (Sub-Librarian, Arts)Coleraine Library +44 (0)28 7012 4540 fj.reynolds@ulster.ac.uk 
Gerard McFall (Sub-Librarian, Ulster Business School)Jordanstown Library +44 (0)28 9036 8144 gj.mcfall@ulster.ac.uk 
Jim Fitzsimons (Sub-Librarian, ADBE and Engineering)Jordanstown Library +44 (0)28 9036 6963 tj.fitzsimons@ulster.ac.uk 
Joan Atkinson (Sub-Librarian, Life & Health Sciences)Coleraine Library +44 (0)28 7012 4287 jce.atkinson@ulster.ac.uk 

Return to Library Home Page

Last updated: 13/05/13
Copyright Statement