UNIVERSITY OF ULSTER

LIBRARY

 

 

All England Direct – a user guide

 

 

COVERAGE

 

Butterworths All England Direct combines the All England Reporter, a current awareness service that provides next day delivery of digests of cases, together with online access to the All England Law Reports from 1936 to date. 

 

THE DATABASES

All England Reporter (plus Archive)
Next day digests and approved judgments

The service monitors cases heard by the House of Lords, the Court of Appeal and all divisions of the High Court, as well the European Court of Justice and Court of First Instance.


Official transcripts archive October 1997  to date

There is access to a wide range of transcripts, in addition to those that have been digested for the Reporter.  The archive, which is updated on an on-going basis, receives all decisions of the Court of Appeal (both Civil and Criminal Divisions) and the Crown Office, together with all QBD Crown Office List cases, all cases from the House of Lords and Privy Council, and an extremely broad range of cases from all other divisions of the High Court, as well as the Employment Appeal Tribunal.  


All England Law Reports 1936 to date

Updated weekly, the archive provides, in full text, cases heard by the House of Lords, the Privy Council, both divisions of the Court of Appeal and all divisions of the High Court.   

 

All England Commercial Cases  1999 to date
Online access to the All England Commercial Cases keeps you at the forefront of developments in commercial law. Hypertext links enable you to jump straight to any other all ER cases referred to in a particular report.

 

All England European Cases  1995 to date

Recently added, this gives information on all England Law Cases from 1995 to date.

 

Annual Review
A companion to the All England Law Reports with contributions from leading academic lawyers, evaluating the decisions of the courts relevant to their particular speciality and reported in the course of a year of the All England Law Reports.

 

Legal Opinions

A review of recent case law with contributions from leading practitioners.

 

ACCESSING ALL ENGLAND DIRECT

 

This database can be accessed from any PC with an internet connection.

From the University of Ulster library home page (library.ulster.ac.uk/), select Electronic Information Services.

Select All England Direct.

A box will appear asking for your Athens username and password 
Enter these and click on Login

 

Alternatively,  type http://www.butterworths.co.uk/allerdirect/index.asp  
in the location box of your internet browser.

Follow the instructions as above.

You are now ready to search.

 

SEARCHING

 

Searching gives the facility to search for any word, phrase or number (or a combination of any) throughout a segment, book or the complete library. 

To the right of the screen when you first log in you will see a series of search boxes. 

Use the Search All facility when information is required from everything on the service.
This is recommended for when your search is relatively simple EG: one word or phrase, words connected by Boolean operators and when you wish to ensure the search is comprehensive across all the databases offered within the web service.

Library Search
This search is best suited when the information you require does not include news items, press releases etc. The library search defaults to “All databases in your subscription”. This is recommended when your search is relatively simple, EG: one word or phrase, words connected by Boolean operators or words incorporating the wildcard facility.

To use the library search, simply enter the word or phrase (remember to use the Boolean operator in Capitals EG: company AND finance, company OR finance) in the box provided. When the search is completed, you will be presented with a list of returned matches. The initial results screen will show the datasets with the number of hits opposite, click on the one required for a fuller list of results.

Navigator
Use this search if you know the case citation. Enter the exact citation of the required case, in recent browsers any inapplicable fields are greyed out but in older browsers these fields should be left blank, and a message prompting you that the citation details are incorrect will be displayed.


Advanced  features include Boolean searches and the use of wildcards.

BOOLEAN SEARCHING

Boolean operators are words you can use to separate two or more words or phrases.  They are used to produce more precise results.  The Boolean operators that are supported are:

Boolean operators are recognised by entering them in upper case.
If you enter them in lower case the word itself will be looked for.

 

Wildcard characters are special characters that can be appended to a word to represent any character.  The two wildcards that are supported are:

* The asterisk  This represents any character or amount of characters.  
Typing in tax* will find any word beginning with 'tax', for example taxable, taxis, taxicab, taxiways, taxman, taxpayer, and so on.  N.B. The asterisk can only be at the end of the word.

? The question mark  This represents any character, but the number of question marks determines the number of additional characters.  
Typing in tax?? will find any word beginning with tax with any two more letters added, for example Tax, taxi, taxes but not taxation as this exceeds the number of additional characters (questions marks) added to your search word.


Select the database you wish to search by clicking on the relevant icon.

There are two search options - Normal and Search Guide. Select Normal

Enter your search query into the search box at the top of the screen.  Use a word, words or phrases for your search.  You can refine your search further by checking the boxes on the rest of the screen, which is divided into three parts:

  1. Search where  Click the buttons to select either the current database, selected parts of the current database, databases selected in the list (ie, All England Reporter, All England Law Reports, or the Official Transcripts) or All databases.
  2. Search how  Click a button to select your search terms either appearing in records next to each other, or appearing in the same paragraph or case.
  3. Search through  Click a button to search through the whole database (Everything) or selected parts of the database (e.g. enter the citation and select CITE if you wish to go straight to the case).


Once you have entered your search term(s) and made your choices of databases/parts of databases, click the search button near the top of the screen.  If you need to make changes to your search strategy, press the clear button.

 

Search Guide allows you to enter your search terms without worrying about which boolean operators to use.

 

SEARCH RESULTS SCREEN

 

Once a search has been conducted, a search results screen will appear.  This summarises your search strategy, detailing your search text (your keywords), search location, type and selection of text.  If your search is successful it will also give you a breakdown of the number of hits in each database.  For example, a search for bananas in all databases in a full text search lists 31 hits in All England Law Reports, 41 hits in All England Law Reporter, and 14 hits in Official Transcripts.  Click on one of these blue highlighted hyperlinks to access the results.

If no hits have been found, click on the search for text button at the top of the screen to return to the search screen.

 

 

DISPLAYING RECORDS

 

The Results Screen

The screen is divided into three frames: the top frame has buttons to find your way around the database, the right frame has the text of the case you selected from the previous screen, and the left frame has a listing called the hierarchical tree contents list.  This list displays your case in relation to the other cases in the same book.  For example, if you are in the All England Reporter, your case will be highlighted in dark blue in a list with other cases reported in that same month.

Use the buttons at the top of the screen to view one or the other frames in full screen format – the tree view button for the hierarchical tree, and the text view button for the text of the case.  Alternatively, place the mouse on the dividing line between the frames and drag it across.

Clicking on the normal view button will restore the split screen.

Hypertext links

Many of the reports and cases have links to other documents in the databases.  They are highlighted in blue, and a click on them will bring you to that document if the University of Ulster subscribes to that part of the database.

Returning to the search screen

The quickest way to return to the search screen is to click on the Search button at the top of the screen.  

 

SAVING and PRINTING

 

Printing

To print your text, right click on the mouse button with the cursor on the text.  From the menu that appears select print.  Make your choices on the print window and click on OK.  If you want to print a selection of text rather than the whole case highlight the text you want to print by dragging the mouse across it with the left side depressed, then click the right side of the mouse, select print from the menu and choose selection instead of all
When printing using the browser, the text make overrun the width of the page. To ensure complete text,  right click on the mouse and choose select all, edit followed by  copy. Open a word processing package such as WORD. 
Right click again with the mouse and select paste. The text will be added to the document and will appear fully when the print command is given. 

 

Print management

This allows you to select the case or piece of legislation (or parts thereof) and add it to a list of items. Select the case or schedule or enactment required by ticking in the box. You can add multiple items to the print management list and print them out at the end of a session.

Copy and paste

Use the edit button on the task bar to select all text, or drag the mouse over a portion of the text you wish to copy to highlight it.  Right-click on the mouse to bring up a menu, and select copy.  Once you have copied the text, open up a Word document, (or Notepad or WordPad if the PC does not have Word) and paste the text into the open document.  From here, the text can be saved to disk by using the select all function from the edit menu, and then going into the file menu and selecting save as.  Choose the a:\ drive and click on save.  Your selected text should now be saved to disk.

 

Saving to disk

It is not possible to save text to disk directly.  Use Print or Print management, or copy and paste facility instead.

 

 

HELP

 

Help is available throughout the web site.  Click on the Help button at the top of the screen.

 

EXITING

 

Click on the exit button at the top of the screen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

August 2002