UNIVERSITY OF ULSTER

LIBRARY


Current Research in Britain (CRIB) CD-ROM User Guide


COVERAGE

CRIB is the national register of current research being carried out in universities, colleges and other institutions within the United Kingdom. The database contains details on over 41,000 current research projects. A separate database (NOD) is also available for searching and it contains references to over 20,000 research projects in the Netherlands.

ACCESS

To access CRIB, go to the library's homepage, and click on Electronic Information Services.

Or, go directly to http://library.ulster.ac.uk/electronic

Click on Current Research In Britain. You may need to wait awhile for it to load.

 

SEARCHING

When you have logged on to the system and selected the CRIB database, the search screen will appear with the cursor bar on Search all technical fields ie. Project title, publication details, keywords, source of funding, subject area, abstract. Each of the fields on the Search Screen can be searched individually or in combination. Move to the field/fields you wish to search using the mouse, type in the search text and press Enter, or click on Search at the bottom of the screen to commence the search. You can clear the screen of unwanted search results by clicking on the Clear button.

Combining terms

You can specify the type of connection you want between search criteria in different search fields by clicking on the AND, OR and WITHOUT buttons at the bottom of the screen.

For search statements within fields, you can use AND, OR, NOT, ADJ (words next to each other) and NEARx (words within x words of each other) to link words together. For example:

AND: search terms must occur together in the field eg. drugs and ecstasy

OR: either one or the other, or both terms must occur in the field eg iron or steel

NOT: use to locate documents that do not contain the search term eg. fish not salmon

ADJx: the search terms must appear within x words of each other in the order specified eg. road adj4 cars

NEARx: the search term must appear within x terms of one another regardless of order eg. drainage near3 soil

Truncation

* represents any number of characters e.g. Superconduct* will find superconductivity, superconductors, etc.

? represents one character. It can be repeated e.g. ?? to represent 2 characters. Interview?? will find Interviewee, Interviewer, Interviewed etc but not Interviewing.

Stop words

Common words such as the, and, of, when etc, should not be included in a search. If you need to use one of these words, e.g. in the title of a project such as push and pull, use inverted commas to enclose the word: push "and" pull.

Browse

Browsing allows you to see all terms used in the database for any of the search fields. This is particularly useful when you are not sure what to search for. Place the cursor in the search field you wish to browse, then either press F2 or select Browse from the top menu bar. Move through the list using the scroll bar or the arrow keys, or start typing the word you want to search for. With the relevant term highlighted, press Enter, click on OK, or double-click on the term to transfer it automatically to the relevant search field. Commence the search by pressing Enter, or click on Search.

 

VIEW RESULTS

Once the search is completed, the screen will display the total records found in the bottom right-hand corner. Click on Display List to display the records found from your search. A list display will then appear. There are a number of display options available including:

Project Title List – displays Contributor Name/Project Name

Subject Area List – displays Contributor Name/Institution/Subject Area

Keywords List – displays Contributor Name/Keywords

Investigator (research workers) List – displays Contributor Name/Department/

Institution

Press the Spacebar to toggle between the different lists. Use the mouse or scroll-bar to move through the list. When the record you want to look at is highlighted press F2

or click on Display to reveal the record. Choose Full Display to view all information for a particular record. Click on Next or Previous to display the next or previous record. Click on List to return to the list display. Click on Search to return to the Search Screen.

Records can be sorted in ascending or descending order. The Sort toolbar option (third button from right) allows you to sort the current set of documents according to the contents of any available search field (eg. subject area; institution etc.)

 

PRINTING

You can select particular records for printing from the List or Full display by clicking on the check boxes to the left of every record, then choosing Print from the File drop-down menu, or clicking on the printer icon on the top tool-bar. In the Print Records Window select from the print options available and then click on OK to commence printing.

 

SAVING

You can save to a floppy disk by firstly marking the records required on the List or Full display. Then select Export from the File drop-down menu. This will display an export dialog window where you should specify a filename (including filename extension .txt), directory and drive (a:) to download your search results. Click on OK to commence saving to disk.

 

HELP

There are help screens available at all stages of your search. Either click on Help from the Menu Bar or press F1 if you are having any difficulty.

 

EXIT

To leave CRIB, click on the Exit button. Click on X in top right-hand corner and then click on OK. Click on the Netscape Back button to return to the Netscape page.

 

 

 

January 1999