Passwords for Distance Learning Students
The Library offers access
to a range of electronic resources including databases and
electronic journals. All of these can be accessed from the
Library home page.
Many of the databases and journals can be
accessed off campus but you will need usernames and passwords to do so. This
guide will give you information about your Athens account, other usernames and
passwords that you will need and also tells you who to contact if you have any
problems.
Athens
What is it?
Your
Athens username and password will enable you to access a range of databases and
journals both on and off campus. Your username and password remain the same
throughout your studies and become invalid as soon as your course is finished.
Athens and WebCT
You
should be able to access all the Library's resources that are accessible with an
Athens account automatically when you log in through WebCT.
To
do this, log on to WebCT as normal. This will bring you to the MyWebCT
page.

Look
for the UU Library Athens Link on this page. Click on this link.
The
Login Announcement window should appear on the screen telling you that
you've been successfully authenticated to use Athens resources - this means that
you should now be able to access all the Library's resources that are accessible
with an Athens account automatically. You should not have to enter your Athens
account details - this is all done for you behind the scenes.

The
next screen will display the Library Home Page. From here you can search the
databases, electronic journals, subject guides etc.

Checking your Athens account details
On occasions the automatic access does not
work and you will be prompted to put in your Athens account, even when you've
logged on first to WebCT. It's important then to know how to get your account
details.
You can check what your Athens username and
password details are by going to the Banner Student and Faculty Self Service web
page at
https://oa1.ulster.ac.uk/PROD/twbkwbis.P_WWWLogin.
Enter your User ID and PIN and click on Login.

At the next screen click on the Personal
Information tab.

Then on View
Student ID, Password and Email Address.

Scroll down to the bottom of this screen to
view your Athens username and password.
If you have any problems accessing your
Athens account, please contact Library staff (names are listed at the bottom of
this page).
When do I use it?
Databases
The Library databases are listed, in
a table, on the Databases page at
http://library.ulster.ac.uk/electronic/. At the top of the table
there is a row of symbols - note the
symbol.

As you scroll through the table of databases,
look at the information which is displayed in the right hand column (Service
Details) for each database title - any title which displays the
symbol
means that it can be accessed with an Athens username and password.

Logging on first through WebCT and using the
route described above means that when you click on the name of the database to
access it you should have automatic access.

Journals
It's the same for access to
journals - if you are accessing journals using the UU Library Athens Link (as
described above) you should not need to enter your Athens account details - this
is all done for you behind the scenes.
The Library's collection of full text
electronic journals is available from the Electronic Journals link on the
Library home page (http://library.ulster.ac.uk/).
Click on the link.

You should automatically by-pass the screen
asking you to enter your Athens account. The next screen you see with be the
TDnet home page. TDnet is the University's listing of full text electronic
journals. From this page you will be able to search through the listing and view
full text articles.

What happens if my account doesn't work?
The username and password are case
sensitive. This means that the letters at the beginning of both the username
and the password should be in lower case. Are you mistaking an O (letter) for a
0 (zero) or a 1 (number) for a lower case l (letter "L")?
What happens if my Athens account expires?
Your Athens account should remain
active throughout your studies. If, however, you try to access a service and a
message is displayed informing you that your account has expired, please contact
Library staff so that we can reset it for you.
What if I lose it/forget it?
If you have lost or forgotten your account
username and password contact Library staff. We should be able to check for
your Athens details.
Other Passwords
Some of the
resources that the Library subscribes to cannot be accessed with an Athens
account.
On-campus:
If you are
on-campus you should be able to access username and password details on
the Library's
Databases page. To do this:
-
Go to the
Library's A-Z list of electronic databases on the Databases page and
scroll to the database you want to access.
-
Instead of
clicking on the name of the database (second column from left) as you would
normally do to access the databases, click on the link to password and
access information in the fourth column from the left (Special
Instructions column).

-
The screen
displayed will give details of the username and password required.

Off-campus:
If you are off-campus you will need to contact Library staff
for usernames and passwords.
Back to Index
Last updated: 06/07/10 Copyright Statement
|